Jersey Girl Surfs: Events that change your life forever.

One of our survivors from camp sent me a beautiful note that I have to share. She has kindly given me permission to post here.

“To be honest, in retrospect I had no idea what Athletes 4 Cancer really provided before I went to your camp. I thought I would take some surfing lessons, hang out on the beach, and meet some cool people. I had no idea this camp would change me so completely.

There are certain events in your life that change you forever. You are just not the same person anymore, you can never go back. Cancer is one of those events. It changes how you view everything. Your camp was another one. After cancer treatments you are left with this feeling of “I should make every moment count. I should live life to the absolute fullest.” But there is no one there to tell you how. I personally got lost. I couldn’t just go back to exactly what I was doing before. That wasn’t enough anymore but I struggled to figure out what I could do that would make it better. That’s when Athletes 4 Cancer came into my life.

You showed me that I can make the most of my life by trying new things, taking on a challenge, and breaking out of my box. That no matter how bad things can seem, there is always something fun, exciting, and new for me. I just have to go find them.

Before camp I thought “Surfing is hard. I probably won’t do very well but hopefully it will be fun.” Now I think “I wonder what else I can do that I have been telling myself I couldn’t.” You have showed me that the answer is – a whole lot.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you.”

~ Jersey Girl

Jersey Girl surfs

If you feel like giving someone an experience that will truly change their life, consider donating any amount and you will be a part of something amazing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

