Camp Koru Circle

A4C’s Funding Goes Straight to Our Mission

By: Tonia Farman

A few weeks ago, the Federal Trade Commission, all 50 states and the District of Columbia accused four cancer charities of scamming donors out of hundreds of millions of dollars. It saddened us to see the generosity of donors abused and the field of cancer nonprofits smudged. It angered us to see survivorship mocked by the very existence of these scams. That’s why we just want to take this opportunity to say: Athletes 4 Cancer (A4C) is an authentic and full-time nonprofit serving cancer survivors every day, making real, positive change in their lives.

We know every scar, every strand of hair loss to chemo, every sharp, shooting pain and every tear among our campers is real, and we would never take advantage of that. All of the funds raised for A4C goes straight to our mission of helping young cancer survivors reclaim their lives after cancer through outdoor adventures. HopeTransparency builds trust, and we want every one of our donors to know that their donations give energy, love and new life to many survivors who are at a tough place in their life. Here’s what your dollars have done through Athletes 4 Cancer since it’s beginning:

  • 306 cancer survivors directly-served, having learned life-transforming techniques to move forward after cancer
  • 1530 friends and family of survivors served through our Circle of Influence impact, in which the lives of those closest to our cancer survivors have been positively impacted by the services we provide
  • 18 outdoor retreats & ambassador connector events
  • Achieved through 1 full-time employee, 2 part-time employees and a volunteer staff of 75

But “results” can’t always be so tangibly measured. Sometimes, it’s the beauty of transformation that reflects the real impact of donations. A4C campers’ testimonials express that transformation.

“Camp Koru changed my life. Only a year out from treatments I didn’t realize how broken I was. The last thing I wanted to do was be with a group of cancerites. Little did I know the best thing I ever did was be with a group of cancerites! I felt like it was ok to be my true self, a side I hadn’t shown in years. The staff and other campers truly helped the transformation from cancer victim to cancer survivor.” –Kiko “Camp Koru…it’s good for the Soul.” –Vida “Camp Koru is the most positive thing that could have ever happened to me. The lessons I learned far exceeded how to surf and paddle. It taught me my strength both physically and mentally. It allowed me to form an amazing bond with others around the world who get it. I learned to get busy living! Koru energized my mind, body and soul. I gained more than just friends, I gained a family, memories and the knowledge that although I had cancer, it doesn’t have me.” –Dragon   

These are the stories that hit home, that show A4C is using our funding (responsibly!) to change lives. We’ll keep sharing them with donors so they know how their dollars help young cancer survivors. If you’re interested in sending a survivor to Camp Koru, check out our Alive365! Campaign or email us at survivorship@athletes4cancer.org.

Leave a Reply

