‘We Are All Family.’

By Katie | Power Name: ‘Sisu’, Camp Koru 19

I was diagnosed at 27 with stage 3b invasive ductal carcinoma breast cancer. I now have Stage 4. It has spread to my bones.

I heard about A4C from my friend Allie. She had applied and told me I should to. It sounded like a lot of fun and to be with people who have experienced cancer as well. I thought, “Why not try it out?” I could make new friends and help heal some open wounds the cancer leaves on you—mind and body.

Katie QuoteI was pretty open minded going into camp. I didn’t really know what to expect. I was concerned about the minor things like showering and where we were going to sleep. I am not a camping type of girl! But I’d go back there in a heartbeat.

Camp Koru changed my life in many ways. I realized I am not the same woman who was diagnosed at age 27. I’m now a 32-year-old survivor with a different outlook on life. I try to appreciate today and hope for a better tomorrow.

When I got home from camp, I found out that my cancer was back and it had spread to the bones. I was still in such a great mind space that I think it helped to accept that news.

I now have about 16 new friends that I can reach out to at anytime, for anything. There are a few I talk to on the daily. I love my Ohana. We are all family. This experience was by far the best thing that came out of having cancer. Gives you a chance to heal your mind, body and soul while getting out there and facing your fears!

